Perfectly Roasted Cauliflower

Roasted Cauliflower with Smoked Gouda Cheese Sauce | Cook Well. Eat Better. Live Happily

Roasted Orange Cauliflower with Smoked Gouda Cheese Sauce

Roasted Cauliflower (or any veggie, really)

So, you don’t like cauliflower, huh? Lies, I tell you. People perpetuate this lie to themselves all the time. Cauliflower is amazing. It’s pretty neutral in taste, so if it hasn’t been prepared right, then yes…I can see why you think you don’t like cauliflower. My husband was one of you, until just recently…he’s not real keen on my faux-nola bars, but as long as it’s cooked and on his dinner plate, he’s been pretty happy with it lately.

Anywho, I typically microwave it and puree it into a most delicious mash, however a few nights ago, I was craving mac and cheese…and since I don’t eat “mac” as of late due to blood sugar issues and our gluten-free-dom, I needed something else…enter a lowly head of orange cauliflower, just beckoning me to roast it. Of course, I obliged…who doesn’t oblige when their veggies beckon them? What, you don’t??

So, this couldn’t be easier. I hacked off the leaves, rinsed it well and shook it off the best I could. Whacked it into florets and prepped the rest of the recipe before I started bedtime with my little ones. By the time I was done with bath and stories, my cauliflower was just about done and I had a quick 10 minutes to throw the OMG BEST. CHEESE. SAUCE. EVER. together. I might have eaten the whole head of cauliflower. (Luckily, my husband wasn’t home, so I didn’t have to share 🙂 Make extras…it’s that good.

Here’s the recipe broken down.

1 head of cauliflower (or 2…I would make 2 if I had to share)
Olive oil, about 3 Tbsp per head
5-8 slices of bacon
salt & pepper

Clean up your cauliflower, cut it into florets and put it in a roasting pan. I used my Pampered Chef stone, because I love it, but you could use whatever. If stuff sticks on it, usually, I would use parchment first, but that’s up to you.

Drizzle the olive oil over the cauliflower and then sprinkle salt and pepper (sprinkle like you mean it.) all over. Toss it around with your hands and try a piece, it should taste well-seasoned. If not, add more and toss again. Once everything is coated and seasoned, lay the strips of bacon across the top of the veggies. (the fat will drip down as it cooks…2 birds, 1 stone…)

Roast at 450 for 45 minutes to an hour, checking on the bacon after about 30 to make sure it’s not burning. You can remove it when it’s crispy. Set it aside, eat it while you wait, add it to your cheese sauce…whatever, it’s bacon, it’s delicious…I don’t really have to tell you what to do with it, do I?

Remove from the oven when there are beautiful little crunchy parts on your cauliflower, it’s hard to over-do it. If you need more time before the rest of your meal is ready, you can always turn down the oven to around 350 after about 35 minutes. That will buy you about another 30-40 minutes.

Remove, plate and eat. Or, for a totally life changing experience, top it with some Smoked Gouda Cheese Sauce.

Leave a Reply

